Student ID Number28803
NameHaileigh Anderson
What is your GPA3.57
What high school do you attend? (CHS or CSHS)chs
Where have you applied for further education?

University of Idaho. Idaho State University

What is your inteded major/speciality?forensics science
In 200 words or less please explain why you are choosing this major/specialty

I would like to further my education in this major mainly because I have many family members that work for the police department, and my Great grandpa is a retired detective and when he tells me stories about his dilemmas and the situations he had to go through it just really sparks my interest. I have always done really well in my science and math classes throughout highschool and that was when I started thinking about my future and what I really wanted to do for the rest of my life.

1. What are your educational goals? Specifically list your planned major and minor courses of study. What do you plan to do with your education?

When I graduate from Caldwell High School I plan on furthering my education at Idaho State University and I plan on studying Criminology. I will minor in Ag science. Ever since I was younger I loved to watch cop shows or murder shows. I found it really interesting how the detectives found information out or how they test DNA samples. I plan on using my college education to help me be successful in the field of work I would live to pursue. I want to be able to be someone who helps people in a major time of need. Being able to be someone a person in danger can run to and feel safe is my life goal.

What extracurricular activities or events have you participated in during high school?

A few extracurricular activities I have participated in during high school is Volleyball, Basketball, Wrestling, Track and Field, FFA, and National Honors Society. I have been doing Volleyball and Track since my freshman year of high school. I joined NHS and FFA my junior year of high school and i started wrestling my senior year.

3. What is the most impactful experience that you have had as a participant in TRIO Upward Bound?

The most impactful experience i have been through during my time in Trio was signing up for the SAT or ACT testing. I used to not even care about those tests but the people in that program showed me why they are so important and they got me on the right track fir high school when i was just a scared freshman.

Other than financial, what is the biggest obstacle you face to completing college? What resources will you utilize to help you overcome this obstacle?

An obstacle i might face to completing college will probably be my family. My family isn't the best and everyone makes mistakes. But I care for my siblings a lot and I try to do my best for them even when it means sacrificing my happiness. A resource I will use will definitely be my grandma. If my siblings are having money trouble i can always trust my grandma enough to send her money and help them out with what the need. My mother sometimes messes up and abuses drugs and when she relapses she puts her children last and that's my biggest worry going to college and leaving my siblings without me.

5. What will it mean to you to be the recipient of The Opportunity Fund?

This would mean the world to me and my family members that are supporting me. When I graduate college I will be the first generation in my family to do so. Ever since my mom gave birth to my siblings I have always wanted to step up and be that person they look up to and say that;s who they want to be like. Cause my siblings and I don't have many people to look up to we just have people we don't want to be like.

6. To what organizations or events have you offered service during high school? What was the most rewarding volunteer experience that you have had, and why?

During high school I have done many activities that benefited others. The most rewarding one I have done so far was painting my schools parking lot. The dashes and lines were so faded people just kind of guessed where they were parking. So I decided one day that My NHS group to do that. The results were amazing and we even had some teacher wanting us to put names where they park. This was most rewarding because it saved conflict. Before i would always see people arguing on how they parked poorly next to one another.

7. How do you plan to fund your post-secondary education? If you have worked during high school describe what you have done.

I plan on getting a side job during college and trying to save money and paying off my debts. During High school I have had many jobs from selling mattresses to cooking pizza and burgers to mowing lawns and babysitting. Throughout my high school career i have always done anything I could to make money. I would offer to babysit or clean houses and I even mowed peoples lawn. My freshman year of high school I got a job at Hamburger Connection and I have kept that job ever since. Hamburger Connection is so flexible with their scheduled that I have maintained multiple side jobs while still working there. The most difficult job I have had so far was agriculture field work. It was very hard and humid, but I even learned some Spanish and a lot of new information about plants.